Sara Grudger, age 121. Sara was a former slave from Burke County, North Carolina. She said: "I never know what it was to rest. I just work all the time from morning till late at night. I had to do everything there was to do on the outside. Work in the field, chop wood, hoe corn, till sometime I feels like my back surely break. I done everything except split rails." May she rest in eternal peace now.:

Sara Grudger, age 121. Sara was a former slave from Burke County, North Carolina. She said: “I never know what it was to rest. I just work all the time from morning till late at night. I had to do everything there was to do on the outside. Work in the field, chop wood, hoe corn, till sometime I feels like my back surely break. I done everything except split rails.” May she rest in eternal peace now.

Read and learn more at The Washington Post

Leave a Reply

